3 Financial Tips for Pet Parents

I knew taking care of a dog would be a lot of work, I just didn’t know that it would also be a lot of money.

The Money Minute is your one-stop-shop for financial advice. Subscribe to get three articles/week on the best money tips, delivered straight to your inbox. 💸💸💸A pretty Penny.

If you don’t know about my puppy Penny, well, you must not follow me on Instagram because I post about her a lot. Exhibit A:

It's Penny’s world and we’re all just living in it.

Penny is actually my first dog. Growing up, my family didn’t have one, so this is all very new to me. I knew taking care of a dog would be a lot of work, I just didn’t know that it would also be a lot of money. The food, the shots, the toys, the crate, the leashes and collars, and don’t even get me started on the vet bills. Penny’s grown to a bigger size than I was told she’d ever be, and her impact on my spending plan has also grown to a bigger size than I ever thought was possible.

But along the way, I’ve learned some helpful money moves to soften the blow to my budget, and I want to give these to you now before your dog eats your homework... and your wallet. So here are three financial tips for all you pet parents:

  1. Give Your Pet an Email Address: If you're like me, your own inbox is ripping at the seems. I created an email address for Penny so that everything related to her is organized. I also sign up for my favorite pet brands' email lists using this email address. Manufacturers usually send out great deals on days like National Dog Day. That way, you can get all the coupons and offers but have them stay in a separate place from your day-to-day work until you need them.

  2. Get Social: Join social networking groups for your pet's type of breed in your area. You can band together to buy in bulk. You can also score some second-hand goods. Or, team up on shared dog walks. It's like carpool, but for your fur kiddos.

  3. Be Proactive: Just like taking care of our health proactively will help avoid major issues in the future, the same goes for your pets. Brushing their teeth will help cut down on dental procedures that can get costly, especially if they need to be sedated. Staying up to date with vaccines and flea treatments is important for staving off more serious problems at the vet. Look for low-cost clinics around you, or check with the veterinary departments of local colleges for discounted rates.

xo,

3 Financial Tips for Pet Parents

Do you want to get rid of debt, lock in that raise, plan for your best retired life, find unclaimed money and generally cruise along the road to financial freedom? Here are more ways to get it together and get it all:

🎙Click here to subscribe here to my daily financial advice podcast, Money Rehab.

📖 Click here to order my latest book, Miss Independent.

🏆 Level up with a Money Minute premium subscription. Subscribers will get enriching bonus content like cheat sheets, exclusive articles and Q&As. Invest in yourself and hit subscribe to check out your new favorite place on the internet.